Articles

He makes all things new

In Spiritual Practices on December 31, 2010 by scottsund

Happy New Year’s eve everyone.  Call me cheesy, but I love the end of the year to celebrate the closing of one chapter and the beginning of the next.  Call me “Tony Robbins-esque” if you want, but I love the opportunity to finish the year, take stock of what has gone well and what has not, and set goals and aims for the next year.  This is the beauty of New Years…the ultimate hope that things can be new again.  This is the Christian story of transformation, that we honestly believe God can make all things new again.

In Revelations 21:5, Jesus says, “Behold, I make all things new.”  ALL THINGS NEW.  This is the hope we carry into our New Year together, Jesus can make us new.

But why is it then that we so often fail to “be made new” when we begin with such hope for renewal?  Often, it is because we put HOPE and FAITH in our own strength instead of the strength found in the Lord.  If we start tomorrow with hopes to work out more, read the bible more, or be a better person and RELY ON OUR SELVES, we’ll never make it anywhere.  Why?  The bible is clear that real transformation and change is found only when we abandon our own power and instead trust God.  Like Christ, our hope is found when our old self dies and we instead follow Jesus.  You can read it in Romans 6:5-7.

No… the real hope for transformation isn’t going to be my own strength this year, my own discipline, my own skills.  Real change will happen if I trust the Lord to do infinitely more through me than I can ever do on my own.  So instead of making a list of all the things YOU are going to do in 2011, pray instead and ask the Lord to reveal more of His character in your life.  In the end, I trust you are going to be transformed in the wonderful and difficult journey of really trusting Him with your life.  Let’s take on this challenge together in 2011 of trusting the Lord with our lives.  Happy New Year!

One Response to “He makes all things new”

  1. You were my long-term English sub at GHS for about two quarters and I figure this is about the best way to anonymously thank you.

Leave a Reply

