Articles

Calm in the chaos

In Struggles with faith, The Journey on December 7, 2010 by scottsund

I started the day on the wrong foot and in a world of “too many’s and not enoughs”: not quite enough zzz’s, a bit too much to do, not quite enough time, not quite enough money for the fishing business, a bit too many extra holiday pounds, not quite enough time to hit the gym to work off those extra pounds, not enough time for conversation with my wife, not enough, not enough, not enough.

Advent?  The expected “quiet time” as we prepare our hearts for the coming of the Lord’s birth?  Are you kidding me?  Quiet time?  NOW?  WHY NOW?  How can God possibly expect us to be quiet during the busiest time of the year! Is this crazy????

Not sure if you can relate, but this was my state of mind this morning.  To compound things, a sick baby meant that I needed to stay home and take care of her for a few hours instead of going to my office and getting some stuff done.  And what’s more…the baby had taken an early nap so she was up for good.

I wasn’t doing well and decided to flip my circumstances a bit.  I packed up the baby, put some headphones in listening to Explosions in the Sky (thanks Brian Franey) and walked down to the creek by my house.  I stood and watched the creek flow for quite a while, feeling my pulse slacken, breathing deep, and praying prayers of gratitude.  As I stood by that stream, with the baby on my back, music in my ears, a brisk December morning blowing in my face…it dawned on me:  THIS PEACE IS THE POINT OF JESUS BIRTH.  AND THIS IS THE PERFECT TIMING FOR ADVENT.  Let me explain.

We lament the busyness of the holiday season and joke that it would be so much easier if Jesus returned on a Thursday afternoon in mid April or a lazy Sunday afternoon at the beginning of August.  But the celebration of Jesus birth and His immeasurable love, mercy, and peace has the perfect timing.  Because the peace of Jesus, the calm in my otherwise chaotic life, is SO AT ODDS with the rest of the frenzied pace of December. This is the perfect time to reflect on the peace and transforming grace of Jesus Christ because it is so perfectly opposite from the rest of the world.  If we can’t pause in the midst of the frenzy to pause and reflect on Jesus during this time, we are missing a gigantic opportunity to drink from the fountain of true beauty, true grace, and true love.  Jesus promises us rest, restoration and hope.  Don’t be fooled (like I was this morning) thinking you are too busy to be restored.  The truth is, I needed it now more than ever.  Perhaps you do too?

Leave a Reply

