Articles

Love Wins

In The Journey on November 9, 2010 by scottsund

Driving around Seattle yesterday I had a moment where God spoke to me through a bumper sticker.  I was engrossed in my own thoughts and thinking through all that needs to be done.  In these early days of the church, it is easy to feel like there isn’t enough time or enough seats in our building  or enough this or enough that.  See, we like to worry as humans.  It’s as if by worrying we can feel more like fixers, like we can control the outcome a bit.  At least that is how it is for me…I want to be a fixer.  Sure I pray, but I give more faith to my own “to do” list than the power of prayer.  So there I was, mentally processing my to-do list when the bumper sticker in front of me broke through the haze of my self-importance.  The bumper sticker simply read:

LOVE WINS

And it hit me like a ton of bricks- LOVE WINS.  God, the God of all creation, the God who loved us so much that He gave His son as a sacrifice for our sin…this God is LOVE.  And in the end, LOVE WINS.  I know LOVE WINS on the micro picture when I choose to exhibit Christ’s ethic of love instead of judgement.  But I also need reminding on the MACRO scale.  In the end, LOVE WINS.  And I almost wept because I felt so convicted how often I rely on my own power and strength and abilities to “do” God’s work.  In all my hurrying and scurrying, my actions communicate as if I’m not sure how this life will turn out.  My own downtrodden soul at times communicates confusion…like I’m saying “God do you still care?”  But I know, truly deeply know in my heart of hearts, that at the end of time, when I stand before my Maker, that LOVE WINS.  It’s here where God will look at me, draw me to Himself, pull me onto His lap, and wrap Himself around me.

Back at the stoplight, its like I hear the words of the Lord again saying, “You are my son, not because of what you have done, but because of who you are.  You are my child now.”  Want proof?  Read 1 John…you will be blown away.

On the Love Wins website their simple mission is revealed:  “We want to build relationships that cross cultural and societal barriers. It is not that complicated: We love people – period. No agenda, no strings attached. People that society has left behind. People who wear dirty clothes. People who beg for money on the side of the road. People who are not welcome in most church buildings. People the city wishes would disappear. People made, we believe,  in the very image of God.”

I’m thankful for this group’s mission and it is one I hope my church will exhibit.  I hope we are a people marked by the Love of God.  Period.  Why?  Because in the end….love wins.

Leave a Reply

