Articles

Morning thoughts

In Uncategorized on October 29, 2010 by scottsund

Whenever possible, I like to rise in the darkness of early dawn, before the kids or Heather is awake, and make my way downstairs for my morning quiet time.  It always hurts a little bit when the alarm goes off, but the thought of fresh coffee and some solitude with the Lord, is normally enough to push me downstairs.  Lately with a newborn, I’ve been missing more of these morning dates with God.  But this morning I made my standing appointment with the Maker, and after filling the biggest mug I own with delicious coffee, making my way to the couch, I spent time in the bible, prayed for my family and a couple at church who is struggling, and read some poetry from Wendell Berry.  I’ll probably blog about Berry later, but for now, I want to share his poem that really spoke to me this morning.  Berry is a farmer and a poet and those things don’t always go together.  I am a pastor and a fisherman and since those things don’t often go together as well, I feel like Berry is a kindred spirit.  I’ve had a heavy heart the last few days and this poem reminded of of the power of nature to reflect God’s great love.  Enjoy….

The Peace of Wild Things

When despair for the world grows in me
and I wake in the night at the least sound
in fear of what my life and my children’s lives may be,
I go and lie down where the wood drake
rests in his beauty on the water, and the great heron feeds.
I come into the peace of wild things
who do not tax their lives with forethought
of grief.  I come into the presence of still water.
And I feel above me the day-blind stars
waiting with their light.  For a time
I rest in the grace of the world, and am free.

 

Leave a Reply

