Articles

To the woman I love

In Uncategorized on August 31, 2010 by scottsund

While I continue finishing our season in Canada, Heather is at home in Seattle with 3 kids.  Today is A’s first day of first grade.  Moments like this make it very hard to live in Canada part time.  This morning I came across this song and I cried.  I miss my family.  I am a thankful man for an amazing wife.  Simply put, I married up.  Anyone that has met Heather will tell you that. 

Marriage really is God’s greatest gift.  And all married people will tell you it takes work some days, and sometimes things get hard.  But God uses our spouse to teach us more about His character.  It is the closest thing on earth to a full version of trinitarian love. 

Right now our church staff is working on a draft of guidelines to helping people understand Bethany’s beliefs on marriage.  Particularly, why sex (and even living together) belong in the context of the marriage covenant.  I won’t get into it here right now, but believe me when I say, God designed us for intimacy.  But intimacy outside of a covenant is merely experimental, and has no real and lasting foundation.  Real intimacy is grounded in committment.  That is revealed in God’s character over and over and over again in the Old Testament.  Despite the failures of His people, God remains loving and faithful.  Simply put, God exhibits how essential committment is to intimacy.

So Heather, this one goes out to you. From the moment of our first date, (13 years, 6 months, 3 days ag0) I knew God was entrusting me with someone amazing.  I miss you.

And for everybody else, listen to this song and enjoy.  Simply beautiful.

2 Responses to “To the woman I love”

  1. your wife, family, writing, calling, are all beautiful! I’m terribly excited to be working with you this fall.

  2. At the end of a long, beautiful, heartbreaking day I left your blog for my final treat after all my cleaning up was done and before falling into bed much too late once again. I just love your writing and miss your words when we are apart. I had no idea you had written about me. Thank you for your words and your love. love you, miss you. H

Leave a Reply

